jump to navigation

Another year, another MOOC… January 11, 2013

Posted by adam1warren in Uncategorized.
trackback

I’ve just started the Open Learning Design Studio MOOC (OLDS-MOOC) run by the OU and have decided to resurrect this blog to act as my reflective journal. I tried using their Cloudworks system but found it unsuitable for use as a journal; no tags, no categories, no comments, messages listed from oldest to newest.

So to start with, here are my initial posts copied from Cloudworks:

I am senior learning designer in the Centre for Innovation in Technologies and education (CITE) at the University of Southampton, UK. I’ve been working in the field of ‘computer assisted learning’ (how old-fashioned that CAL acronym sounds now, compared to technology-enhanced learning TEL) for over 20 years, so I have a good historical perspective on all this. This is my fourth MOOC; I bounced off the second-ever one run by George Siemens and Stephen Downes, but completed ones by Curtis Bonk (Coursesites) and Jonathan Tomkin (Coursera) last year.

At the moment, my concern is over the apparently complex design of this MOOC and the demanding (daily!) schedule of activities. Will real life enable me to cope and engage with this as I might wish? That said, I really like the idea of a project-based MOOC and look forward to working with my CITE colleagues on designing and developing a learning activity/resource.

Personal objectives for the week:

  • Get my head around Cloudscapes
  • Liaise with work colleagues to form team (maybe)
  • Dream up a possible project
  • Join a study circle
Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

