jump to navigation

So, how’s this new mook going? January 15, 2013

Posted by adam1warren in Uncategorized.
Tags: ,
trackback

So, how’s this new mook going?

it’s mooc, not mook, and to be honest it’s been a bit of a wild ride so far…

?

well, it didn’t get off to a great start, y’know – the usual technical problems –

oh yeah, what is it they say – never work with animals or computers – ha!

Mmm – but I was one of the lucky ones who did get a link that worked, and to be honest it wasn’t that great. There was the usual vertigo-inducing Prezi that either skated past too fast or the guy read the words off the screen

so a big step forward from PowerPoint then? They need to get their heads around slideology and zen presentation…

exactly. Anyhow, the embedded videos had no sound, so it looked like they hadn’t tested it, which wasn’t too inspiring

ok, I get the picture – but what about the mook itself?

mooc. Well, the technical learning curve was kinda steep if you weren’t up to speed with all that web2 caboodle. Their Cloudworks space is a strange mix of cool and clunky, and I’m not sure I’ve really got to grips with it yet – and the embedded Google pages are a nightmare – two sets of scrollbars, can you believe it?

yeah, I bet that would get steam from Nielsen’s ears! and the accessibility crowd won’t be too thrilled either.

yup – although a rather lame accessibility statement appeared on the homepage a day or so back – seems like its a work in progress

well, we’ve all been there (laughs)

anyhow, Yishay, who’s kinda the main man, has really been putting in 110% to get this thing off the ground. I hope he’s not trying to do a day job at the same time like the rest of us! I thought the instructions were pretty clear, but lots of peeps just don’t seem to get it, which must be really frustrating for them – and him. There’s this awesome schedule of daily tasks, but it turns out now that these are only guidelines and we can take it a bit more at our own speed. There was a lot of stressing online like “it’s day 2 and I’m already behind (sob)” but, hey, this a free cmooc and you just need to chill.

cmooc? I thought it was called a..

the c stands for connectivist, or constructivist or something like that – means that this is more about what we bring to the party – not like one of those xmoocs from..

xmoocs? now I’m really getting confused –

well, the x stands for – er – er – the main point is they are all about the Content (with a capital C) and usually have some big-gun academic telling it like it is. Did I tell you about that one I took last year with the crazy guy?

yeah, completely bonkers!

pirate hat and all (laughs) But this one is completely different and is trying to get us to form teams and actually make something – learning by doing – and discussing, of course. In fact, given there were nearly 1000 people signed up for this, the open forum is actually pretty quiet.

anything interesting yet?

not sure – haven’t had time to read it all, of course – lots of people trying to define learning design. It’s a bit like the blind men describing an elephant. I guess I need to just listen for a bit and see if I can figure out the whole thing.I’m reading this neat paper by Falconer, Finlay and Fincher titled ‘Representing practice: practice models, patterns, bundles‘ which compares various methods for representing learning designs so they can be shared. And Yishay sent me a link to some examples – I took a quick look and there are all these perfect diagrams plus a narrative description – here’s my reply to him:

“I’ll spend some time comparing the various representations of the same activity (a session for school children on ‘healthy eating’). From a first browse through I was struck by the contrast between the neatness of the diagrams (“this is how it works”) and the messy reality of the Design Narrative (“this is how it really worked the first time we used it in a challenging school situation”). There is a military saying that no battle plan survives first contact with the enemy and perhaps the same is true of learning designs and learners! I suspect that as we approach the end of the first week here that you understand this all too well 🙂 Still, adapt, improvise and press on…”

and will you? I have to say you don’t seem overenthusiastic so far…

I hope so – they’re really jumping into the unknown with this mooc, so expecting it to be perfect – well, it ain’t gonna happen. Like I said, the trick is to chill and enjoy the ride. Besides, I’ve signed up for this project with a guy called Oli – it sounds really cool and is all about collaborative gamified simulations using WordPress Networks

yeah, I read about that in your last post – what the hell was that about? You’ve got to stop eating those Rarebits, y’know…

no-one said we had to take this seriously. Besides, all the serious talking has been in our study group –

?

just a bunch of us at work, sharing our thoughts. We’d planned on doing the mooc together, but real life has thrown a spanner for a few of us – the usual stuff; illness and pressure of work – did I tell you my daughter was rushed to hospital last week?

no! she ok?

yeah, back at uni now but it was a real worry for a couple of days – I got this midnight call like “I’m in an ambulance”. Major panic, as you can imagine. Thank god for the NHS – but as you can guess, that nearly derailed my mooc start…

no kidding – glad it wasn’t anything too serious. Good grief, is that the time? Listen, it’s been great yakking, but I’ve gotta go – catch up same time next week?

Sure – bye for now – going to catch that new Utopia on TV…

Comments»

1. Stephen Bright - January 17, 2013

LOL love your conversational dialogue, Adam a lot what you are saying resonates with me.

One phrase I wrote on the whiteboard at my work about this MOOC was “the dissonance is evident between a task-based structured design and a connectivist distributed pedagogy with a large range of diverse tools to be used to accomplish that task.

But as you say, an interesting ride.


Leave a Reply

